If you are tired of eye-ing that basket of naan when you’re out eating indian food with your gluten-friendly friends, look no further then Udupi Palace. At this South Indian vegetarian/vegan restaurant on Valencia Street, you will enjoy a variety of lentil based bread-y items that are naturally gluten free. Although the menu does not include gluten free naan bread or any actual (gf) notations, the manager has assured me on several occasions that their dosa and papadams are gluten free. These two items are made with lentil and/or chickpea flour. Many, if not all of the curries are also gluten free, and can be served with a dosa shell upon request. A dosa is a crispy crepe made of lentil flour and stuffed with spiced potatoes and vegetables, served with several dipping sauces. Oftentimes there is a line out the door for this restaurant. If you don’t feel like waiting, try Dosa, a restaurant half a block up Valencia St. with a swankier atmosphere, slightly higher prices, and a little (gf) note on the menu. (Future post to come.)

Featured Dishes: Masala Dosa and Papadum

1007 Valencia Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 970-8000

1901 University Avenue
Berkeley, CA 94704
(510) 843-6600

  2 Responses to “Udupi Palace”

  1. Great website! Just wanted to say that the curries at Udupi are NOT gluten free. They use a brand of asafoetida in the seasoning that is ground with wheat flour, and this seasoning is used in all of their curries. It might also be added to the chutneys.

    I have tried to eat here before and was told that everything is gluten free. When I insisted on asking them to show me the bottle of asafoetida they use, it clearly said “Ground with wheat flour” on the bottle. The brand is called LG. Unless they have switched to using gluten-free asafoetida (Frontier is one such brand), I would eat here with caution.

    Dosa, on the other hand uses GF asafoetida so their curries and sambar are all definitely GF.

    • Thank you!!! I think I just figured out why my Celiac hubby always has a reaction when we eat at our local South Indian restaurant, where they always insist everything is GF. They thicken everything with besan (chick pea flour) but now I know I need to ask to see that bottle of spice. Thank you!

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>